Is there an hierarchy of divine beings in the Avesta? (TMY – Jame Jamshed of 22-10-17)

  1. The Avesta mentions divine beings of different types and status. The highest among them is Ahura Mazda who alone has the title dadar “creator” prefixed before his name.
  2. After Him comes the Ameshaspands who individually look after each of the seven creations. Under the seven Ameshaspands work the Yazads.
  3. There are innumerable Yazads working in the universe, but only a few from these are mentioned by name. The names of the Roj and Mah are dedicated to some of these Yazads mentioned by name.
  4. Of the 30 days (roj) of the month, the first seven are named after the Ameshaspand and the rest 23 are dedicated mainly to the Yazads. Three to four Yazads are appropriated to one each of the seven Ameshaspands and work under them. These are called the Hamkars of the Ameshaspand.
  5. Among these 23 Yazads there are a few who are called ‘Mino’ who work predominantly for spiritual qualities and purposes. The rest work predominantly at the material level and for worldly tasks and purposes.
  6. Another type of Yazads are called Ratus. They predominantly work with nature and are connected with seasons.
  7.  Fravashis and Asho Ravans (realised souls who have already reached Garothman-the Highest Heaven) are also divine beings in their own right. They too work under and with the Ameshaspands and Yazads.

2 thoughts on “Is there an hierarchy of divine beings in the Avesta? (TMY – Jame Jamshed of 22-10-17)

    • In the Present Zoroastrian religion, Mithra or Meher is among one of the 23 Yazads. However. he is more important than other Yazads, as he is one among the three Yazads who has the honor of a month being name after them.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s